A540 - Class Schedule
Spring 2002

Professor: Caty Pilachowski
Office: 315 Swain West
Email: catyp@astro.indiana.edu

Class meetings: T-Th, 9:30-10:45 AM in Kirkwood 010. When my travel schedule conflicts with this meeting time, we will meet on Wednesday or Friday at 2:30 PM in SW 318.

Tuesday, Jan. 8 Read Payne Gaposchkin's thesis NO CLASS (AAS meeting)
Thursday, Jan. 10 NO CLASS (AAS meeting)

Wed., Jan. 16 Chapter 1 (background) 2:30 PM SW318
Thursday, Jan. 17 Chapter 5 (radiation)
Friday, Jan 18 Chapter 6 (black bodies) 2:30 PM SW318

Tuesday, Jan. 22 Chapter 7 (energy transport)
Friday, Jan. 25 Chapter 7 (energy transport) 2:30 PM SW318

Tuesday, Jan. 29 Chapter 8 (continuous opacity)
Thursday, Jan. 31 Chapter 8 (continuous opacity) HW#1 Due

Tuesday, Feb. 5 Chapter 9 (model photospheres)
Thursday, Feb. 7 Chapter 10 (stellar continua)

Tuesday, Feb 12 Review of basics HW#2 Due
Thursday, Feb. 14 NO CLASS MEETING Midterm #1 (take-home)

Tuesday, Feb. 19 Chapter 11 (line absorption)
Thursday, Feb. 21 Chapter 11 (line absorption)

Tuesday, Feb. 26 Chapter 13 (spectral lines)
Friday, March 1 Chapter 13 (spectral lines) 2:30 PM, SW318

Tuesday, March 5 Chapter 14 (chemical analysis) HW#3 Due
Thursday, March 7 Chapter 14 (chemical analysis)

March 8-17 Spring Break

Tuesday, March 19 Chapter 15 (radii and temperature)
Thursday, March 21 NLTE

Tuesday, March 26 The Stellar Zoo HW#4 due
Thursday, March 28 More Stellar Zoo (Giants)

Tuesday, April 2 Stellar Activity
Thursday, April 4 NO CLASS MEETING; Midterm #2 (take home)

Tuesday, April 9 Stellar Surfaces; Midterm #2 due at start of class
Thursday, April 11 L and T Dwarfs

Tuesday, April 16 Winds and Mass Loss
Thursday, April 18 Project Presentations, Term projects due

Tuesday, April 23 White Dwarfs
Thursday, April 25 Review

Posted: 17 Jan 2002